Planning Commission

The Portage Area Regional Planning Commission was created on August 7, 1962, per Ordinance 241, by Portage Borough. The Planning Commission consists of five members serving a five year term, appointed by Borough Council. The Planning Commission is also comprised of five members serving a five year term from Portage Township.

The Planning Commission was created to identify existing problems and/or constraints within Portage Borough and Portage Township and to develop mechanisms and policies that will promote sound “growth management” in support of economic development. The Commission represents a concerted effort by elected and appointed officials. The Planning Commissions goal is to increase economic development and strengthen the regional planning process.

In 2001, the Cambria County Planning Commission prepared “The Portage Area Region Comprehensive Plan” that is available for review in the Portage Borough Administration Building.

Board Members

  • Joseph Beyer – Chairperson
  • Kami Lidwell – Secretary
  • Ray Kargo – Teasurer
  • Chuck Gouse
  • Mark Slebodnick
  • Steve Nagy
  • Todd Holsopple
  • Jr. Member- Carter Lidwell

The Planning Commission has also pursued student involvement with the community by implementing a Junior member program.

The Planning Commission meets every second Monday of the month at 7:00 p.m. at the Portage Township Municipal Building located at 4109 Portage Street.