Portage Borough
Skip navigation links
Home
Municipal Government
Municipal Election Information
Minutes
Ordinances
Authorities & Commissions
Community
Recreation
Plans and Projects
Portage Borough > Schools
Skip navigation links
Emergency ServicesExpand Emergency Services
Organizations
Area Businesses
Links and Directory
F A Q' S
CalendarsExpand Calendars
Forms and Application
In the Past PicturesExpand In the Past Pictures
Building Permit Process
Job OpportunitiesExpand Job Opportunities
Portage Area School District
84 Mountain Avenue
Portage, PA  15946
814/736-9636
 
 
Contacts & Directions

     For most visitors, the easiest--if not always the fastest--way to get to Portage is from U.S. Route 22, exiting at Munster Road (Route 164), which leads directly to Portage Borough. Route 164 becomes Main Street as it passes through the borough. About midway through town, at Mountain Avenue, travelers should turn off Main Street (there's only one direction to turn) and head up the hill, where they'll find both the elementary and junior-senior highs at the top of the street.  The junior-senior high (grades 7-12) is to the right, and the elementary school is on the left.  The superintendent's and business offices occupy the righthand side of the elementary school.

Approximate Travel Times & Distances:
Johnstown -- 22 miles, 30 min.
Altoona -- 29 miles, 35 min.
Pittsburgh -- 85 miles, 1.75 hrs.
Harrisburg -- 135 miles, 2.5 hrs.
Philadelphia -- 240 miles, 4.25 hrs.
Washington, D.C. -- 180 miles, 3.5 hrs.

Quick Contacts:  Phone  Address
Superintendent's Office 814-736-9636 ext. 1200   84 Mountain Ave., Portage, PA 15946
High School Office 814-736-9636 ext. 1260  85 Mountain Ave., Portage, PA 15946
Elementary School Office 814-736-9636 ext. 1420  84 Mountain Ave., Portage, PA 15946
Business Office 814-736-9636 ext. 1230  84 Mountain Ave., Portage, PA 15946
Athletic Director's Office 814-736-9636 ext. 1360  85 Mountain Ave., Portage, PA 15946
 

 Portage Area Schools

Portage Area School District

Home of the Mustangs

 Portage Area School District
Board of Directors

Name                             

Term
Expires    

 Email             Phone                  
J.T. Bandzuh 2017  jbandzuh@gmail.com

421-7942 

 
Sue Berardinelli 2017 sberardinelli@mustangmail.org
381-8397  
Jason Corte 2017 Contact Through District Office*     
Matthew Decort 2017 matthew.decort@yahoo.com 736-9661   

Kathy Hough, Vice President

2017 tkhough@verizon.net  736-8450   
John Jubina 2017 jjubina@comcast.net  736-4306   
Christian Smith 2017  Contact Through District Office*    
Dennis Squillario, Treasurer 2017 linden6687@comcast.net  241-9091  
Erik Thrower, President 2017 throwers97@yahoo.com  736-3488   
    *District Office - 736-9636 ext. 1200   
 
 
 

 

 

 Meeting Dates

The Portage Area School Board meets the 2nd Wednesday of
each month at 6:30 p.m.  at the Elementary Auditorium for 2017:
January 11, February 8th, March 8, April 12th, May 10th, June 8th
July 12, (If necessary, August 9th, September 13th, October 11th,
November 8th, and December 6 (Reorganization)

 Portage Area High School

The Portage Area High School is located at 84 Mountain Avenue, Portage, PA  15946
814/736-9637.
 
Administrative Office Directory -- Dial 814-736-9636 Plus Extension
Name Phone Ext. Email Position
District       
Eric Zelanko 1560 ezelanko@mustangmail.org Superintendent
Denise Moschgat  1200  dmoschgat@mustangmail.org Executive Secretary,
Transportation Coordinator
 
Open Records Officer
Ryan Clouse 1520 rclouse@mustangmail.org

Technology Coordinator

Pete Noel 1605 

pnoel@mustangmail.org

Dir. of Special Education 

Elysia Myher 1610

emyher@mustangmail.org

Special Education Assistant

John Smithmyer  1320, 1380 

jsmithmyer@mustangmail.org 

Cafeteria Manager 

Jeremy Burkett  1280 

athletics@mustangmail.org
jburkett@mustangmail.org

Athletic Director 
H.S. Dean of Students

John Kowalski  1615 

jkowalski@mustangmail.org 

School Psychologist 

Tony Panick  1440 

spyder@mustangmail.org

Building & Grounds Supervisor 

Elementary     

 

Christian Serenko 1600 cserenko@mustangmail.org

Elementary Principal

Jennifer Pisarski  1390   jpisarski@mustangmail.org

Dean of Students 

High School       
Ralph Cecere 1250 rcecere@mustangmail.org Junior-Senor High Principal
Jeremy Burkett 1280  jburkett@mustangmail.org Dean of Students, Athletic Director
Business       
Jeff Vasilko  

jvasilko@mustangmail.org

Business Manager 
Valerie Gentile 1240  vgentile@mustangmail.org Payroll Clerk

 Sacred Heart School

The Sacred Heart Schools enrollment is pre-school to Kindergarten. 
 
The school is located at 821 Orchard Street, Portage, PA  15946
 
The telephone number is 814/736-3588.